We are pleased to announce the follow up to 2010’s acclaimed collection of  songs that was ‘Praise and Blame’ with the release of ‘Spirit In The Room’ on 21st May 2012 through Island Records.

Universally graced with critical and commercial success – reaching No 2 in the UK, ‘Praise and Blame’ saw Tom  mark  a return to his roots  and emerge with  a powerful body of work drawn from  the American spiritual repertoire. Now moving forward with ‘Spirit In The Room’, Tom draws  on  an evocative range of compositions executed  with  an unprocessed passion  that make them his own. There is a raging interpretation of Tom Wait’s  ‘Bad As Me’, a wonderful rendition of Odetta’s  ‘Hit Or Miss’,  the front porch blues  of  Vera Hall Ward’s ‘Travelling Shoes’ and a stunning reading of the other-worldly ‘Charlie Darwin’ by Low Anthem— all revealing Tom as he continues to explore his artistic landscape..

‘Spirit In The Room’ once again brings together producer/guitarist Ethan Johns (Brit Award Producer of the Year 2011)  and Tom for intimate performances with  a very considered and select group  of musicians— multi instrumentalist Johns, Richard Causon on vintage keyboards and piano (Ryan Adams, Kings Of Leon and Rufus Wainwright), Warpaint’s  Stella Mozgawa on drums, and Ian Jennings and Sam Dixon on bass.

Recorded at Bath’s Real World studios, ‘Spirit In The Room’, like it’s predecessor, allows an unvarnished Tom Jones to bring a  voice to songs as only he can.  Accompanied by Ethan Johns throughout, the album includes  gems from a diverse  choice of writers - Richard Thompson, Leonard Cohen, Paul Simon and Paul McCartney  amongst others. Simple, raw and soulful, welcome to ‘Spirit In The Room’.

As we've been reporting, Tom has also graced  a recent single on Jack White’s Third Man label . Featuring  Howlin’ Wolf’s ‘Evil’  in his own inimitable style and produced and played by White and some of his Raconteurs,   the single  comes  backed with a reworked version of  Frankie Lane’s classic ‘Jezebel’ and has already  picked  up widespread praise .

‘Spirit In The Room’ is:

1.   Tower Of Song (L. Cohen)                                     6.   Bad As Me (T.Waits) 2.   (I Want To) Come Home (P.McCartney)           7.   Dimming Of The Day(R.Thompson) 3.   Hit Or Miss (Odetta)                                              8.   Travelling Shoes (V. Hall Ward) 4.   Love And Blessings  (P. Simon)                           9.   All Blues Hail Mary (J. Henry) 5.   Soul Of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)               10. Charlie Darwin (Low Anthem)

There will be a Deluxe Edition album which will contain the additional recordings ‘Just Dropped in’, ‘Lone Pilgrim’ and ‘When The Deal Goes Down’.

There's just a short 7 week wait until release, but you can pre-order a copy from Amazon here.